UPDATE: If you are here looking for materials for our session on Tuesday 11 December 2012, please go here for up-to-date files.  Thanks.

Good morning.  Interest in the course has exceeded expectations — it’s great to see so many people who want to expand their toolbox.  I’m looking forward to meeting you all tonight.

Software Installation

Installing MySQL Workbench does not install MySQL!  This was an oversight on my part, and at least one attendee couldn’t get Workbench running properly for lack of MySQL on their computer.

Please download MySQL (you’ll want the link for “community server”) and install on your laptop.  Mac users should also install the “startup package” so MySQL automatically starts and runs in background when the computer is booted.  I expect Windows user will be provided some similar means of auto-starting MySQL.  It’s probably best to restart your computer after these installations to be sure the database program is running and available to Workbench.

If you haven’t already, download and install MySQL Workbench.

File Distribution

Later today I will post a link to example files for use in the class, watch @yyrrll on Twitter for an announcement.

Need help?

I will be at General Assembly all day and will be at the classroom early.  If you need help with the installations, please contact me or find me (email in About) and I’ll do what I can to help.

